

75th AGM Minutes

Meeting Date: Tuesday 2 August 2022

Time: 11:00am – 12:00pm

Meeting Number: 76

Location: Gala Foyer, Scottish Exhibition Centre (SEC), Glasgow

Attendees: Bruce Lascelles (Chair) Sarah Garry (Executive Officer)

28 delegates attended the meeting including two non-members (office staff) who were not entitled to vote. Voting on the resolutions took place in advance and 51 member votes for each category were received, which met requirement for the quorum.

	Agenda Item
1.	Welcome and Apologies
	The Chair welcomed members to the first face-to-face Annual General Meeting for three years, which was taking place during the World Congress of Soil Science and celebrating the Society's 75 th anniversary.
2.	Annual Report 2021
	The Annual Report had been distributed in advance of the meeting and Sarah and Bruce provided an overview of the Society's key achievements over the last year. This included the largest number of members ever, being approved as a Non-Governmental Organisation for UN Climate Change Conferences and increasing the number of awards offered to UK universities from 7 to 10. The Board had become more strategic, inviting non-members to join to provide their expertise in governance, finance and policymaking and set out its long-term vision for the Society, outlining what it expected to have achieved by 2030.
3.	Approval of Ordinary Resolutions
	For the first time, members had been asked to vote on resolutions in advance of the meeting, which provided equity to all members. The quorum for votes was met and the following resolutions were approved:
	 Minutes of the 75th AGM held on 7 September 2021 Trustees' Annual Report and Accounts for the year ending 31 December 2021 Reappointment of the auditors HSA & Co.

British Society of Soil Science Cranfield University, Building 42a, Cranfield, Bedfordshire MK43 0AL

T: +44 (0)1234 752 983 F: +44 (0)1234 752 970 E: <u>admin@soils.org.uk</u> W: <u>www.soils.org.uk</u>

- Dan Lambeth to join the Board immediately as Marketing, Communications and Policymaking Trustee
- Paul Hallett and Mike Palmer to join the Board from 1 January 2023 as President Elect and Professional Practice Committee representative, respectively
- Members joining Council immediately: Bruce Lascelles (Grants & Awards Committee Chair), Kara Marsden (Welsh Soils Discussion Group) and Chris Cantle (Northern Soils Network) and Eleanor Reed (Professional Practice Committee Chair) joining from 1 January 2023.

2022/2023 Board and Council members would be:

	2022 Board	2023 Board
President	Bruce Lascelles	Jack Hannam
Past President	Sacha Mooney	Bruce Lascelles
President Elect	Jack Hannam	Paul Hallett
Marketing, Communications and Policymaking Trustee	Dan Lambeth	Dan Lambeth
PPC Trustee	Tom Aspray	Mike Palmer
Treasurer Trustee	Anirban Sarkar	Anirban Sarkar
Governance Trustee	Vacant	TBC

	2022 Council		2023 Council	
Presidential Team	Bruce	Lascelles	Jack	Hannam
	Jack	Hannam	Bruce	Lascelles
	Sacha Mooney		Paul Hallett	
EJSS Editor	Jenni	Dungait	Jenni	Dungait
	(ex officio)		(ex officio)	
SUM Editor	Deyi	Hou	Deyi	Hou
	(ex officio)		(ex officio)	
Executive Officer	Sarah	Garry	Sarah	Garry
	(ex officio)		(ex officio)	
PPC Chair	Mike Paln	ner	Eleano	r Reed
Education Committee	Lois Philli	os	Lois Ph	nillips

Grants & Awards Committee	Sacha Mooney	Bruce Lascelles	
WCSS Working Group	Bruce Lascelles	-	
Early Career Representative	Kirsty Elliott	Kirsty Elliott	
Midlands Soil Discussion Group	lain Gould	lain Gould	
Northern Soils Network	Chris Cantle	Chris Cantle	
South East England	Leila Froud	Leila Froud	
Regional Group	(maternity leave/co-opted)	(maternity leave)	
South West Soils Discussion Group	Lynda Deeks	Lynda Deeks	
Scottish Regional Group	Nikki Baggaley (co-opted)	Nikki Baggaley (co-opted)	
Welsh Soil Discussion Group	Kara Marsden		
Ordinary Council Member	Robert Cochrane	Robert Cochrane	
Ordinary Council Member	Xavier Portell	Xavier Portell	
Ordinary Council Member	Mark Nason	Mark Nason	

The Chair thanked Tom Aspray and Sacha Mooney both of whom would leave the Society Board at the end of 2022 and had given five and six years respectively in those positions. Both had been committed, supportive and prepared to challenge Board to ensure the best possible outcomes for the Society.

3. Honorary Membership

Members could choose to make an Honorary Member of any person who had been a full member of the Society for the preceding ten years and who had made an exceptional contribution to the objects of the Society. Members voted in advance and recognised Professor Mike Goss, who was unable to attend the meeting, for the award.

4. Outstanding Contribution Award

British Society of Soil Science Cranfield University, Building 42a, Cranfield, Bedfordshire MK43 0AL

T: +44 (0)1234 752 983 F: +44 (0)1234 752 970 E: admin@soils.org.uk W: www.soils.org.uk

Earlier in the year, the Society Outstanding Achievement Award was launched to recognise the valuable work undertaken by volunteers. Two awardees were unanimously agreed by the Grants & Awards Committee: Dan Evans and Willie Towers, neither of whom were able to attend the meeting.

Both were thanked for their ongoing commitment to the Society: Dan as co-creator of the Society's successful Zoom into Soil series and Willie as lead of the arts programming for the World Congress.

The Chair also took the opportunity to thank the in excess of 50 regular volunteers to the Society who provided their support to committees, as Board Trustees or in attending events on behalf of the Society.

5. **Any Other Business**

There being no other business, the Chair closed the meeting by playing a short video which highlighted the Society's achievements over the past 75 years.